The Best Healthy Whole Wheat Pancake Recipes to Make From Scratch

How to Make Healthy Whole Wheat Pancakes from Scratch

…and then make extra mix and save it for later!

healthy whole wheat waffles | http://itsaLisa.com

Ok so the photo above is of waffles, (fun fact – waffle mix from scratch is like basically the same thing.)

Did you know the ingredients only change slightly from waffle to pancake? The great thing about this recipe is the dry ingredients remain the same for waffle and pancake – you can mix these guys together whenever you want and set it aside for later. Then, when you’re ready to bake, you just add the “wet ingredients.” The wet ingredients vary slightly for pancakes, or waffles. Mix and pour, and you’re guaranteed delicious breakfast food every time!

To make the whole grain DRY MIX, you will need:

(Makes enough to fill a mason jar)

  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1 cup oats (grated if you want a smooth mixture)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Combine dry ingredients together. Make some now, save some for later.

You’ll observe in the photos that I don’t actually own proper measuring spoons. That’s because I’m a free spirit (aka – I don’t have any – but I’ve done enough baking that I’ve learned to “eyeball” pretty well).

healthy whole wheat pancake mix | http://itsaLisa.com

And now for the WET INGREDIENTS…

For Pancakes

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract

Pour over skillet, flip when bubbles form on surface. Repeat.

For Waffles

  • 2 egg whites (whipped)
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract

Spray waffle iron with cooking spray. Pour batter into center of iron. Close for 6 minutes, reopen and remove waffle. Repeat.

Serving Suggestions, top with any or all of the above: Fresh Fruits, Yogurt, Honey, Agave, Maple Syrup, more Cinnamon, Nutella, Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chips, Coconut, etc…etc…

I like to top mine with naturally sweet ingredients, since the pancake itself lacks the buttermilk-sweetness that you might have grown up with. (AKA – it’s healthier). I also love cooking the pancakes so the outer edges are crispy, but the inside is still a tad battery. Finding this balance takes time, and knowledge of how your own kitchen works. (Whenever I’m in new kitchen it takes at least 3 pancakes to get it right…) Another reason making more than enough is a good idea!

healthy whole wheat pancake mix | http://itsaLisa.com

Tip: Store your dry ingredients in an empty coffee tin, or a mason jar for safe keeping.

I do this because I know they will be kept safe from contaminants, I also like to recycle my jars, you save money and you save the earth.


I hope your pancakes or waffles turned out! These recipes were crafted from my own trial and error, work with yours to find the perfect balance for you. : ) It’s hard to go wrong with pancakes. Also – I’ve never heard anyone complain about someone making them breakfast before. So make away, have fun, and serve them with a smile!

Let me know what you think in the comments!

Connect with me @itsa_Lisa on Twitter / Instagram / Pinterest 

2 thoughts on “The Best Healthy Whole Wheat Pancake Recipes to Make From Scratch

  1. Pingback: Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies For Everyone! | itsaLisa

Leave a comment