Turning 30 Musings

Wow, I turn 30 tomorrow. I often tell people I’m excited about “getting older” because it brings more wisdom, more wealth (hopefully), more opportunities, more comfort in your own (aging) skin… And I look forward to and embrace every age, as I did my 20s.

The past 10 years were filled with a lot of fun, a lot of late nights dancing, tears shed, full hearts and broken hearts, long hearty laughs, clichés, funny jokes and really bad jokes, new experiences, and incredible memories. I did a lot that I’m proud of, and some things I’m not so proud of. But I try not to live in regret, so even though I’ve messed up a few times, I learn from those decisions and keep going!

Since it’s a milestone birthday, I wanted to take some time to reflect. So I’m doing a little series:

(TL;DR the Virgo has made a list!)

Let’s jump right in!

1. Things I’m Proud Of From My 20s

1. I’m proud of my relationships.
– I have met an amazing circle of friends here in Austin that I know have my back.
– I have sustained a close relationship with old friends from my youth, and even had the honor of being in some of their weddings!
– I met my sweet partner Nick, who has my whole heart
– My immediate family and I all live in separate cities but we still talk and connect, and for that I am grateful.

2. I am proud of my home.

– I bought a house because I thought it was cool. Then I turned it into a sustainable side business, which is even cooler. We’ve held intimate parties and events for my circle, and even more for the people who book and create their own memories here too! I’ve created a safe and loving space that I can call my own. And anyone who comes threw our doors shares that warm welcome too.

3. I’m proud of the trips I’ve been on.

Most of the trips I took in the past 10 years happened because I said YES to a spontaneous idea! I’ve been to over 10 countries, 4 continents, at least half the states. Say YES often, and use NOs wisely. 🙂

4. I am proud of my mental, physical, and emotional health.

I actively work towards being healthy in all these areas. So I’m proud that I can stand here at 30 in a fit and strong body. I am intelligent and can think quickly on my feet. And I have an emotional capacity to listen and comprehend and better address my own needs as well as the needs of others. This takes WORK, and I intend to actively grow all these departments as long as I can, especially since the scientists tell us that these things start to decline in our 30s UNLESS we intervene.

5. I am proud of my creativity.

I’ve always been creative, my parents fostered it when I was growing up, and I foster it myself now. I get to be creative at work, at home, here… It’s fun to flex this skill, and I am grateful that I’ve had so many opportunities to be creative thus far. It’s something that lights me up. In fact, I’ve been super creative these past few weeks as I launched my podcast, and soon-to-be youtube, and in doing so I’ve felt a new energy that I think had been dwindling. So I’m excited to fan that flame even more as the days go on. Stay tuned!

6. I am proud of the fun I had, mistakes and all.

I had so much fun in my 20s! (Even during quarantine, tho not as much). Some of my best memories are going out and dancing at the clubs much too late into the evening. Wine nights with friends. Game nights where we laugh so hard we cry. Binge nights, because that’s really the only way to watch TV anymore. Wowing crowds with incredibly charismatic Karaoke performances…

(Can’t forget the daytime!) Bottomless mimosa brunches, hopping around Rainey street, happy hours that turn into more nights dancing!

(I promise I can have fun sober too!) Shopping, hiking, adventuring, dressing up, trying new things, TRAVELING, cooking, kissing, diving into the ocean waves, driving my scooter through the streets of LA, walking along the Austin boardwalk…

It’s all great, and I’m so proud and glad that I’ve done it. I also don’t plan on letting age stop me from continuing to have fun, although I already can’t rally like I used to. 😅💃

I could go on, but I think that summarizes it well.

2. Things I Am Grateful For

https://www.instagram.com/p/Blp_61QA-Il/

Now I want to share things I am grateful for. It feels kinda weird, I’m not used to sharing so openly, but I think gratitude is a good practice to have!

  1. I’m grateful for my support system of friends.
  2. I’m grateful for my family who gave me a very safe and secure childhood, I owe my creativity and optimism to that stability. I can’t say it was allllll rainbows, but there were a lot of butterflies.
  3. I’m grateful I found myself. I figured out my aesthetic, what works and what doesn’t. I feel like I really grew into myself the past 10 years… as I’m sure we all have in our own way… just as I’m sure we will continue to do. And for that I am very grateful.
  4. I’m grateful four our kitty cats who we love so much and they love us back. I call Gatito my shadow because he is always following me around, and Grandma is Nick’s. 🥰
  5. I’m grateful for my career that brought me to LA and then Austin, and now allows me the freedom and flexibility to pursue side hustles. Fun fact: I actually got laid off from my first job out of college because I would leave during lunch to mail Etsy crafts! (There’s more to it, but that was a big factor. lol)
  6. I’m grateful for the right and privilege to vote in the US. To have a voice, and use it for good.
  7. I am NOT grateful for my skin, because I still break out despite dozens of efforts to stop it. But it could always be worse, right? 🙄
  8. I am grateful for all the fun we had pre-quarantine, and the bubble I have now as we exist in the “unprecedented time.”
  9. I am grateful for Nick, his giant hugs, and unconditional love.

3. Things I am Looking Forward To

https://www.instagram.com/p/CFGMMiEFWnw/

In my final reflective section. I want to share things I am looking forward to in my 30s. A lot happened in the past 10 years. It feels like sooooo long ago. So I can’t even imagine what 30 year old Lisa is capable of… But I’m a believer in manifesting, a practicer of biohacking, and a lover of health, wellness, and skincare – so I know good things are bound to come.

  1. I am looking forward to even more growth and success.
  2. I’m throwing a LOT of spaghetti at the wall, so I’m looking forward to seeing what sticks! (and If nothing does, at least I enjoyed the process.) Here’s a preview:
  3. I am looking forward to extending our family of 4: 2 humans, 2 cats, so maybe some tiny humans and dogs?!??
  4. I am looking forward to traveling more… If it’s ever safe again 😒.
  5. I am looking forward to CONTINUING to nurture my emotional, physical, and intellectual wellbeing. Gotta keep those telomeres long! 🧬
  6. I am looking forward to continuing living a rich and full life. Not rich in $$$ (tho that’d be cool) but rich in love, friendship, good food, long walks in nature, sunsets and sunrises. The simple things, the exciting things, and fond memories.

Gah, now my own sentiment is making me feel sick. If you made it this far you’re a real one. 💕 I’m usually not an over-sharer, but I’m trying this new thing where I express my thoughts and feelings instead of hide them away!
I guess that’s the last thing I’m hoping to do: let more people in.

Ok. Goodnight for the last time in my 20s.
See you tomorrow! 🙂

Lisa

Connect with me on Twitter / Instagram / Pinterest /  BohoHouseATX

Leave a comment